A lot of the time, I don’t sleep well. It results in late nights spent staring at my ceiling, or sitting half awake at my desk scribbling things in my notebooks by pencil. Things that make absolutely no sense when I read them again the next morning. I have something called recurring nightmares. It’s always the same, down to the last detail. I have three that keep coming back, and despite research spelling out some line about stress in real life causing them, I haven’t found a cure even by confronting my “inner demons”. A better method I’ve found is shutting them up with chocolate and dirty jokes. Anyway, here’s the prompt. 

Prompt: What’s the oddest dream you’ve ever had? Why was it odd? How did you feel when you woke up? 

Example: I dreamed once that I was a penguin. I lived in a world of white ice and small pockets of crystal water. The passing of time held no interest or meaning, blurring past in a haze of days and nights, until one morning, I woke to find a dragon on the horizon. It was big, bigger than my tiny feathered body, dragging scaled limbs slowly over the ice. Someone had injured it- there was a trail of blood in its heavy wake, thick and foul smelling, like sulfur. As it reached me, it stopped, and we stared at each other for a long time. After awhile it simply lay down, and I watched it die. 

When I woke up, I was confused as all hell. It was a pleasant respite from the usual dreams, but I didn’t quite know what to make of the penguin and the dragon. 

