I don’t normally like to use character sheets, I think I’ve said that before. It may make me odd, but I like to build my “world” first, and then see how my characters develop in different situations. That way, their personality comes out on its own, and it’s (usually) less work for me. Granted there is the occasional mutiny where my MC refuses to do as I’d planned, but I can generally beat them back into submission through hardship and personal loss.

I’m not crazy, I swear. 

In any case, when I do try to map out a character beforehand, I like to use a couple of different things. First, name generators. There are all sorts of sites out there, and don’t shy away from “baby naming” pages either. Babies are people too, and those types of websites usually have a pretty comprehensive list. Sometimes you can also find names by popularity, and by what year they were the most popular in- handy to have when writing a story that isn’t set in the present. 

Second, I like to make my characters as realistic as I can. While, yes, the strong, dashing hero and swooning, perfectly proportioned heroine are nice…they aren’t very easy to relate to, and that can lose the reader, as most everyone knows. I like to borrow traits from people I see on the street, or my favorite victims, my family. One hero bounces his leg when he sits because he can’t stay still. Another has OCD- which comes with its own set of challenges. A word of warning, though, when dealing with actual illnesses or syndromes, DO YOUR RESEARCH! Yes, the caps lock was necessary. Nothing is more irritating than reading a character who supposedly has one disease, but exhibits uncommon traits, or is completely symptom-free except when it’s convenient to have something to feel sorry for them about.

Moving on, I’m also the sort of person that has no idea what to say about her characters. I need prompting, which is what this form is for. 

CHARACTER SHEET

BASICS
Full name:
Nickname:
Date of Birth:
Current Age:
Hometown:
Parents:
Siblings:

LOOKS
Hair color:
Hair type:
Eye color:
Height:
Weight:
Features:

FAVORITES
Foods:
Music:
Movies:
Sports:
Hobbies:

EXTRAS
Pets:
Disabilities:
Special circumstances:
Goals:

CURRENT INFO
Current City:
Type of Housing:
Lives with:
Job:
Boss:
Salary:

LOVE
First Kiss:
First Relationship:
Other Relationship Notes:

 

BEST QUALITIES
Personality:
Behavior:
Habits:
Relationships:

WORST QUALITIES
Personality:
Behavior:
Habits:
Relationships:

