I listen to a lot of music when I write. Sometimes I have a specific track in mind, to help put me in the right mind set for the scene I’m in the middle of, but a lot of the time I just put on an hour long “chill” song, and fill my head with notes and instruments instead of the usual voices and snippets of dialogue that won’t SHUT UP long enough to let me focus!

Some of my favorites:

 

I love music. It speaks to my soul, if you’ll allow me to get philosophical for a moment. Interesting, how some songs you hear, and immediately something comes to mind. There’s one song by Madonna that, every time I hear it, I think of a book I was reading at the time, driving back from summer camp. Another song makes me cry sometimes because I played it for lullabies when my son was in the NICU and I couldn’t sleep because I was so worried for him. Still another makes me smile because I remember driving with friends, screwing around like usual. I don’t even remember where we were going, and it was hot as Hades that summer, but it didn’t matter because we had a lot of fun.

So next time you write, try fitting music to your words. Like I’m the first person to ever have THAT idea, ha.

